New York Notes

I’m just back from my second trip to New York in 2010. These two trips have been the first time that I’ve had significant time to do my own thing and I find that I’m really falling for this version of New York City. A version of NYC that includes Shabbat dinners with friends, time to walk from neighborhood to neighborhood, a growing familiarity with how the streets go and how the subway works.

The Pod Hotel

On the recommendation of a few good friends, I’ve been staying at The Pod Hotel. An affordable hotel with single rooms (twin beds) and shared bathrooms in mid-town, it has become my unofficial headquarters in New York. I know how to get around Manhattan from there and have had nothing but good experiences there.

(Yes. I did complain about there being no water on Monday morning, but that was an honest emergency and the staff was nothing but pleasant.)

My favorite place on the block to eat is now Blockheads where I went for Saturday brunch and Sunday night dinner/Superbowl. I went solo both times and the staff is super friendly. Definitely a place where you are welcome to be a solo diner.

D.C.: Lloyd, why do you have to be like this?
Lloyd Dobler: ‘Cause I’m a guy. I have pride.
Corey Flood: You’re not a guy.
Lloyd Dobler: I am.
Corey Flood: No. The world is full of guys. Be a man. Don’t be a guy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment