Pivot. Roots.

2010: Year of the Pivot.

First six months of the year, I owned my own company and was fantasizing about moving to New York. I was on a plane 4-6 times a month, money was tight, I was a stressed out basket case.

Then Along Came June.

At the end of June, as I was getting on a plane to go to Israel, I accepted an out of the blue offer to join a tech start-up.

Since then I’ve started riding my bike regularly, stopped talking about work (because I can’t) and went into a bit of a sabbatical from being busy. As the year is ending, things are picking up again, but I’m in a totally different place than I was a year ago.

2011: Year of Roots.

I’ve been trying to leave Chicago since two weeks before the economy crashed in… what was it, 2008? I had my condo on the market, cried as I signed the dotted line to list it. Selling my condo meant that I could move to Israel.

Then the economy went in the shitter. The real estate market crashed. I quit my job, started a company and tried not to be in Chicago. I spent almost three months in Israel on business and personal trips, I went to New York weekly and occasionally found myself in Austin.

I hated my condo for becoming a ball and chain, keeping me in a city that I’d gotten over living in. I saw myself anywhere but here.

Then in 2010, the pivot. A job that commits me to Chicago for three more years. A new hobby (cycling) that intimately connects me to Chicago. A new friend from LA who needed a tour guide.

I stopped hating my condo. I stopped trying to leave Chicago. The next step is to put my roots back down. If I’m going to be here, I’m going to Be. Here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

